A Brief Summer Reading List

I rarely stick to a reading list. I get distracted by other shiny books. I buy new books that I want to read right away because otherwise they might go into the pile and not be read for a year. Nonetheless, there are some books that are at the top of my list as summer reads.

This list also doesn’t include any books that are being released in late May or June. These are just the books that I already own that I want to read. These are ranked by how badly I want to read them, and therefore probably the order in which I’ll read them, but maybe not! I never know what I’ll be in the mood for.

  1. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – YA Fantasy

Strange the Dreamer

I actually just started reading this the other day! Already getting on this list! I’ve heard a lot of hype about this book, I’ve heard good things about Laini Taylor’s writing, and the cover is beautiful. Those are the main reasons I wanted to read this. I haven’t read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, but it’s been on my radar for a while. All I know about Strange the Dreamer is that the main character is Lazlo Strange and he’s obsessed with a city called Weep that may or may not be real. He works in a library. That is honestly all I need to know for me to pick this up. I’m a real easy sell.

  1. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – YA Contemporary

The Unexpected Everything

Last year I read Since You’ve Been Gone and loved it. So I wanted another taste of Morgan Matson. I’ve heard she’s a really good summer type author and this book just came out in paperback, so I decided to grab it. The Unexpected Everything is about a girl who plans her whole life, but then a scandal rocks her politician father and her summer is derailed completely. She becomes a dog walker and there’s probably a romance. It sounds cute, and as someone who just graduated, that IDK WHAT TO DO WITH MY LIFE feel will be super relatable.

  1. Roseblood by A.G. Howard – YA Fantasy

RoseBlood

In ninth grade I was obsessed with The Phantom of the Opera. I watched the movie every weekend, I read the original book, I read the sequel book to the play, I read so many different versions of this story. So when I heard there was a YA adaptation being released I had to check it out. I know nothing about the story except that it’s a retelling of The Phantom of the Opera, but with fantasy elements and the print inside the book is red. I’m not sure how I feel about the red font, but we’ll see.

  1. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – YA Fantasy

Carry On

I just finished Fangirl the other day and I loved it. I’ll probably make a post about my thoughts. But I really loved the little snippets of Simon Snow we got in between chapters. So I went to the bookstore to pick up Carry On and I’m jazzed to read it!

  1. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde – YA Contemporary

Queens of Geek

I know very little about this book. I know it has an LGBTQ romance, it involves a YouTuber, and some sort of convention. The reason I bought this is because I read Geekerella a couple weeks about (that’s another book I’m going to post about) and I loved that book so much I wanted to read something else like it. Queens of Geek came up and I bought it.

  1. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis – YA Historical Fiction

A Madness so discreet

I have this bad habit of buying a lot of books by the same author even though I haven’t read any of their work. Mindy McGinnis is one of those authors. I have 3 of her books and haven’t read a single one. So I’d like to read A Madness So Discreet because it was the first one of hers that I bought. I love the premise: a girl had something horrible happen to her and was shut away in a mad house, became mute, but now she’s helping a detective solve crimes. And it’s set in the early 1900’s. It sounded awesome when I bought it, and it still does.

  1. Cut Both Ways by Carrie Mesrobian – YA Contemporary

Cut Both Ways

This was one of those books I waited until it came out in paperback to buy, so I’ve waited about six months to get this book and it seems like a good summer read. It’s about a boy discovering his bisexuality. He starts sleeping with his best guy friend, and dating a girl. I’m writing a book with a bisexual main character, so I wanted to see how other writers are doing it. And I’ve heard really good things about Carrie Mesrobian.

  1. The Romance Reader’s Guide to Life by Sharon Pywell – Historical Fiction/Fantasy?

The Romance Reader's Guide to Life

This book, man, I went to the bookstore and it caught my eye. I told myself not to get it, but it was 20% off. And then I read the first sentence “If you’re reading this, then you aren’t where I am, which is dead.” So I pretty much had to buy it. It involves books and a love of reading along with sisterly bonds and maybe romance and pirates? And it’s set in the 1800’s sometime, and I love me some historical fiction. This book just sounds like a whole lot of fun.

Honorable Mentions: Strange Times: The Ghost in the Girl by Tom DeLonge & Geoff Herbach, To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han, Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, and Hotline by Quinn Anderson.

About themeg09

A reader and writer who has very strong opinions and is attempting to be a human and not stay up until four in the morning. A citizen of many fandoms. Come talk to me!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

