One Year!

One year ago today, I began this blog. Unfortunately, I couldn’t keep up with my posting ambitions. My apologies to anyone who cared.

Happily though, I would like to start posting again. Lots of things have been happening! I lived in England for six months, but that was not as exciting as I had hoped. There’s a funny thing that happens when you legally cannot hold a job. You run out of money to do fun things. Yeah.

It was an adventure though and I’m very glad I took that leap. It also gave me plenty of time and panic to really get writing. Nothing motivates like fear, amirite? So I am getting a short story published and a novella e-published! Yay! I’ll give more info on those things as they happen, including links and pretty covers.

Another thing that I will keep you all updated on, is my MFA program. I was accepted into Minnesota State University, Mankato. I’ll be teaching 101 composition courses and earning a Master’s in Creative Writing. I’m sure those experiences will give me plenty of blog fodder.

So, a year ago today I published a list of books I wanted to read. I did keep up with that list until near the end and I plan to write reviews of all those books still. Today is earth day and spring is about rebirth, right? So this is to the rebirth of my blog. I’ll give a few ideas of the posts coming up, which I plan to post every Tuesday and Friday.

This Friday, I’ll post the essay that got me into Graduate School. It’s a comparison of Fifty Shades of Grey and Tess of the D’Urbervilles. If you’re rolling your eyes, you might want to take a peek at it anyway. The thesis is basically that Christian is actually the villain of the story because Ana romanticizes the abusive relationship between Alec and Tess. I’d love to start a conversation about it.

Then I’ll get back to my old list of books, starting with the Unnatural series and then The Yellow Birds. I visited the Bronte Parsonage Museum while in England, so I might do a post about that. There might be updates on my current writing projects. I’m taking a short break from writing fiction to read and recuperate, but plan to start again May 1st. I never really plan to do movie reviews, they just happen, so we’ll see what I find interesting. There will probably be a review on God’s Not Dead because it made me really angry, and probably not for the reasons you think.

Thanks for sticking around. Here’s a list of the books that I already read, that aren’t on my list.

The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter

Boys on the Rock – John Fox

Sparkling Cyanide – Agatha Christie

Kissing Sherlock Holmes – T.D. McKinney and Terry Wylis

Bluebeard – Angela Carter

Beauty – Robin McKinley

Deviations: Submission – Chris Owen and Jodi Payne

The Peach Keeper – Sarah Addison Allen

One Night Stand – Ben Tyler

Strangers on a Train – Patricia Highsmith

I will be reviewing these after I get through my previous list. If you haven’t realized yet, I love making lists. If I have readers, and if you readers have any suggestions, please go for it in the comments.

Anywho, Happy Earth Day everyone!

I’ll see you Friday.

About themeg09

A reader and writer who has very strong opinions and is attempting to be a human and not stay up until four in the morning. A citizen of many fandoms. Come talk to me!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Year!

  1. Sylwia says:

    Welcome back! ❤

Leave a Reply

